Home      INSTICC Portal
Call for Papers
IVAPP is sponsored by INSTICC – Institute for Systems and Technologies of Information, Control and Communication

The International Conference on Information Visualization Theory and Applications aims at becoming a major point of contact between researchers, engineers and practitioners in Information Visualization. The conference will be structured along several topics related to Information Visualization.
We welcome papers describing original work in any of the topics listed below. Papers describing advanced prototypes, systems, tools and techniques as well as general survey papers indicating future directions are also encouraged. Paper acceptance will be based on quality, relevance to the conference theme and originality. The conference program will include both oral and poster presentations.
Special sessions, dedicated to case-studies and commercial presentations, as well as technical tutorials, dedicated to technical/scientific topics, are also envisaged. Companies interested in presenting their products/methodologies or researchers interested in lecturing a tutorial are invited to contact the conference secretariat.

Conference Topics

Papers should address one or more of the listed topics, although authors should not feel limited by them. Unlisted but related topics are also allowed.

  • Analytical Reasoning
  • Biomedical Visualization and Applications
  • Databases and Visualization, Visual Data Mining
  • Flow Visualization
  • GPU-based Visualization
  • Graph Visualization
  • Hardware for Visualization
  • Image/Video Summarization and Visualization
  • Information and Scientific Visualization
  • Interactive Visual Interfaces for Visualization
  • Interface and Interaction Techniques for Visualization
  • Internet, Web and Security Visualization
  • Interpretation and Evaluation Methods
  • Knowledge-assisted Visualization
  • Large Data Visualization
  • Mathematical Foundations of Interactive Visual Analysis
  • Multi-field Visualization
  • Parallel Visualization
  • Perception and Cognition in Visualization
  • Presentation Methods
  • Software Visualization
  • Spatial Data and Non-Spatial Data Visualization
  • Time-varying Visualization
  • Uncertainty Visualization
  • Usability and Visualization
  • Vector/Tensor Field Visualization
  • Virtual Environments and Data Visualization
  • Visual Data Analysis and Knowledge Discovery
  • Visual Representation and Interaction
  • Visualization Applications
  • Visualization Taxonomies and Models
  • Visualization Algorithms and Technologies
  • Visualization Tools and Systems for Simulation and Modeling
  • Volume Visualization

VISIGRAPP Keynote Speakers

Sabine Süsstrunk, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
Colin Ware, University of New Hampshire, U.S.A.
Sabine Coquillart, INRIA, France
Zoltan Kato, University of Szeged, Hungary


All accepted papers (full, short and posters) will be published in the conference proceedings, under an ISBN reference, on paper and on CD-ROM support.
All papers presented at the conference venue will be available at the SciTePress Digital Library (http://www.scitepress.org/DigitalLibrary/). SciTePress is member of CrossRef (http://www.crossref.org/).
A short list of presented papers will be selected so that revised and extended versions of these papers will be published by Springer-Verlag in a CCIS Series book.
The proceedings will be submitted for indexation by Thomson Reuters Conference Proceedings Citation Index (ISI), INSPEC, DBLP and EI (Elsevier Index).


The Meliá Roma Aurelia Antica is a magnificent modern building surrounded by 10 hectares of Mediterranean forest in a quiet area near the airport Fiumicino and just a few kilometers away from Vatican City.
Rome is one of Europe's leading business travel destinations and one of the most attractive destinations in the world for congresses, meetings and incentives.

Program Co-chairs

Martin Kraus, Aalborg University, Denmark
Robert S. Laramee, Swansea University, U.K.

Area Co-chairs

Frederic Jurie, Université de Caen, France
Teo de Campos, University of Surrey, U.K.
Zoltan Kato, University of Szeged, Hungary
Sebastiano Battiato, Università di Catania, Italy
Bogdan Raducanu, Computer Vision Center, Spain

Program Committee

Lisa Sobierajski Avila, Kitware Inc., United States
Maria Beatriz Carmo, Faculdade de Ciências da Universidade de Lisboa, Portugal
Carlos Correa, Lawrence Livermore National Lab, United States
Chi-Wing Fu, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
David Gotz, IBM Research, United States
Charles Hansen, University of Utah, United States
Pheng-Ann Heng, Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
Seokhee Hong, University of Sydney, Australia
Ingrid Hotz, Zuse Institute Berlin, Germany
Tony Huang, CSIRO ICT Centre, Australia
Andreas Kerren, Linnaeus University, Sweden
Martin Kraus, Aalborg University, Denmark
Denis Lalanne, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
Chun-Cheng Lin, National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
Peter Lindstrom, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, United States
Lars Linsen, Jacobs University, Bremen, Germany
Giuseppe Liotta, University of Perugia, Italy
Kwan-Liu Ma, University of California-Davis, United States
KreŇ°imir Matkovic, VRVis Resarch Center, Austria
Silvia Miksch, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Klaus Mueller, Stony Brook University, United States
Benoît Otjacques, Centre de Recherche Public - Gabriel Lippmann, Luxembourg
Alex Pang, University of California, Santa Cruz, United States
Margit Pohl, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
Christof Rezk-Salama, University of Siegen, Germany
Adrian Rusu, Rowan University , United States
Heidrun Schumann, University of Rostock, Germany
Han-Wei Shen, The Ohio State University, United States
Aidan Slingsby, City University London, United Kingdom
Shigeo Takahashi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Melanie Tory, University of Victoria, Canada
Chaoli Wang, Michigan Technological University, United States
Matt Ward, Worcester Polytechnic Institute, United States
Tino Weinkauf, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany
Huub van de Wetering, Technische Universiteit Eindhoven, Netherlands
Jarke van Wijk, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
Hsu-Chun Yen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Ji Soo Yi, Purdue University, United States
Xiaoru Yuan, Peking University, China